How do I become a CERA?

You need to be an actuary.

To be eligible for the CERA qualification, you need to have reached the minimum standard required by the International Actuarial Association (IAA) syllabus in order to be described as a “fully qualified actuary”, and then also need to meet the additional ERM educational standard in line with the CERA syllabus. For some actuarial associations, the IAA standard is designated by the Associate level and thus the CERA qualification is pitched somewhere between Associate and Fellowship (although is often obtained by actuaries who are already Fellows).

Route to CERA

All Member Associations qualified to accredit the CERA qualification have their own routes to CERA and will have accredited their own university routes. Refer to the ‘at-a-glance’ list on the right for the details of each Association’s individual route.

How much time will it take?

Note that in order to obtain the CERA qualification you must have reached at least Associate level status, which normally takes three to five years. The additional ERM specific requirements of the syllabus mean that the CERA qualification is likely to take a little longer than this.

How much will it cost?

There will be fees payable for sitting the examinations, attending a seminar, for the course materials and for any tuition that you decide to undertake. Please refer to your own association for further information.